Guest Review of Newbery Honor Book The Thief

We’ve been featuring audiobook reviews from guest blogger Jana Warnell, an elementary school librarian in Montana. You can read her review of Clementine and The Ranger’s Apprentice: Ruins of Gorlan. Check out more reviews and librarian insights from Jana at her blog, http://janasbooklist.blogspot.com/.

The ThiefThe Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
Running Time: 7.25 hours
Reading Level: 6
A Newbery Honor Book

The Thief is one of those books that I have heard so many good things about (it was a Newbery honor book) but never found myself that motivated to read it. I had checked it out several times but just never got around to reading it! So, I turned to the audio book. I do this often when I know I feel I should read a certain book, but just can never get into the print edition. I checked out the audio book from my library and entered the world of The Thief.

The first thing I liked about the narrator (Jeff Woodman) is that he wasn’t British. A story like this could have easily had a British narrator, but this one didn’t. I don’t think it would have added anything more to the story, and I liked that for once, a historical or fantasy novel with royalty was not narrated by a British narrator!

The second thing I liked was that the narrator treated his audience as intelligent. There is nothing worse than a narrator that assumes his/her audience is slow. I found a book like that earlier this summer and could not even listen to it for five minutes. Mr. Woodman performed The Thief like the listener was part of the story and in on all the secrets.

I also liked how he didn’t create separate voices for every character. When a narrator is good at voices it can be great, but it can also be distracting and sometimes hard to listen to for long periods of time. I like it when a narrator simply changes the pitch and tone of his voice for each character. It is effective and does not detract from the story at all.

The Thief is a great story. It is the tale of the Eugenides, the greatest thief in the kingdom. When we meet Eugenides, though, he is in prison. He gets called to duty when the magus (a scholarly/magician type who works for the king) takes him out of prison to steal a hidden treasure that has been lost for ages. This story is full of emotions and imagination and a great twist at the end.

A great audio book has me putting aside all the print books I am reading to keep listening and this book did that for me. I found excuses to mow the lawn and drive more so that I could keep going! I wanted to stay in Gen’s world. Luckily Recorded Books has produced more books in the Attolia series (with one scheduled to be released in January). Each of them is as good as the first!

Jana will be doing some more guest blogging for us to kick off the school year, so stay tuned! And don’t forget to stop by her blog as well at http://janasbooklist.blogspot.com/.

4 Responses

  1. […] Jana Warnell, an elementary school librarian in Montana. You can read her reviews of Clementine, The Thief, and The Ranger’s Apprentice: Ruins of Gorlan. Check out more reviews and librarian insights […]

  2. […] Jana Warnell, an elementary school librarian in Montana. You can read her reviews of Clementine, The Thief, and The Ranger’s Apprentice: Ruins of Gorlan. She also shared with us how to hook reluctant […]

  3. […] Jana Warnell, an elementary school librarian in Montana. You can read her reviews of Clementine, The Thief, and The Ranger’s Apprentice: Ruins of Gorlan. She also shared with us how to hook reluctant […]

  4. […] Jana Warnell, an elementary school librarian in Montana. You can read her reviews of Clementine, The Thief, and The Ranger’s Apprentice: Ruins of Gorlan. She also shared with us how to hook reluctant […]

Leave a Reply

