Summer Reading List for YA

Summer Reading for YA

Following up on last week’s list of great upcoming children’s book releases, this week we’re featuring young adult titles. Suggest these titles, easy to add to an MP3 player or listen to in the car, to keep your students reading over summer break.

Starred titles are special favorites of our editors here at Recorded Books! All titles are available as a download as part of our One-Click Audio program (more information coming soon). For more details on the titles below, head over to the blog.

Bullet Point by Peter Abrahams
Enchanted Glass by Dianna Wynne Jones
– Also view the Chrestomanci Series
It’s Not Summer without You by Jenny Han
– Sequel to The Summer I Turned Pretty
Jealousy (Strange Angels 3) by Lili St. Crow
Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers
– View our large selection of Walter Dean Myers titles
Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper
– View more from Sharon M. Draper
The Reckoning (Darkest Powers 3) by Kelley Armstrong
Stolen by Lucy Christopher
– We plan to release Flyaway in 2011
Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman
– View more from Patrick Carman

To WIN one of these titles upon publication, leave a comment below sharing how you encourage your students to read over summer vacation. We’ll pick one commenter to win! Drawing will be held Friday, May 14 at 12:00PM EDT.

8 Responses

  1. My students are always asking when so-and-so’s next book is coming out, so I find these list invaluable. I keep a running list of “series” and the kids love them. Before summer hits, I have a list made up and on the library counter for the students to take a copy. The parents love it. It’s a “Just for Fun” list of good books.

  2. I have a list of suggested books (from which students must pick 3) as well as a project based on one particular book for each grade level I teach (6-8). We discuss the book once they get back to class and complete follow-up activities. We use the Accelerated Reader Program so the students also take tests on the books they have read once they return to school. I also have students suggest books to me and/or each other to keep them motivated.

  3. My Readers Council students (Jr. High Grades 8-9) are running a book drive for new and gently used books for children and teens. Donations will be given to the Domestic Violence Shelter, along with water bottles, handmade bookmarks, and book bags to give those kids a chance to enjoy some summer reading fun.

    They’re also creating a summer reading list to distribute to all students at our jr. high school.

  4. I have two different ways of encouraging reluctant readers. First off, I bring in just one book of a series and do a book talk. I give “selling points” on a book or movies I know the students already have an interest in which are similar to the book. Then I ask who would like to read it first. There is always a push to be first to read it. Then I can bring in the series.

    The second, is over the summer I have a tic-tac-toe of sorts covering different genres and subjects studied the next year. I teach multiple grades. For example if in 6th grade is covering “The Great Depression”, I list that era. 3rd grade is studying presidents, so that is listed, etc. Any student who brings in a completed tic-tac-toe board with book title, author, and a kid friendly written summary of their favorite book gets a certificate for a free book from the first book order.

  5. In order to make sure my students get their summer book list and it doesn’t end up in the waste basket on the way out of school, I include it in the envelope with their report card!
    Also, I actually have various students come up with the summer book list and write a short summary of why they enjoyed the book and what it was/is about.
    Students seem to take more interest if the list is generated by peers!
    I haven’t done this yet, but would like to begin over the summer. In the book list letter, include certain places to meet over the summer to discuss what students have read. Meetings can take place at coffee shops, parks, libraries, restraunts, etc.

  6. This year, I plan to have my eighth graders draw up the list of recommended books for summer reading for the seventh graders, and the seventh graders will create the list for the sixth graders. Having some choice encourages students to find something they like, and knowing that the titles were recommended by other students makes it more interesting and acceptable. Also, the required titles I’ll assign relate to our first unit of study, so I give them a little background about that to pique their interest.

  7. I have a classroom wiki and will encourage my students to post about their summer reading. They love to share!

  8. […] book, which we recently recommended, follows 14-year-old Reese Anderson, who has spent 22 months in a tiny cell at a “progress […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

