August Giveaway – National Inventors Month

August is National Inventors Month, so we’re hoping to inspire some you inventors with this month’s giveaway: Brainstorm!: The Stories of Twenty American Kid Inventors by Tom Tucker. To win, leave a comment below with your favorite story of invention. It could be a cool story about how an invention came to be, an invention you really enjoy, or an inventor who has inspired you.

Excerpt from Brainstorm! – Patents (3:19)

CONTEST RULES:
THANKS FOR PARTICIPATING – WE HAVE A WINNER! STAY TUNED FOR NEXT MONTH’S GIVEAWAY!

  • Leave a comment below (be sure to enter a valid email address, or we won’t be able to contact you if you win!) telling us your favorite invention story.
  • Tweet (we’re @recordedbooks) or blog about the contest and you can leave a second comment linking to your tweet or post—you’ll get another contest entry. Spread the word!
  • Again, be sure you leave a valid email address with your comment so we can contact you. If you’re picked as a winner and we can’t contact you, the prize will got to the next winner. (You don’t need to re-nter it within the body of the comment, though.)
  • Comments will be assigned a number (first commenter is #1, second is #2, etc). Winners will be picked by random.org according to comment number.
  • Drawing will be held on August 14, 2009 at 12:00PM Eastern time. Winners will be contacted by email to get mailing information. The winner will receive one copy the following title on CD: Brainstorm!: The Stories of Twenty American Kid Inventors.
Body-attachable Sunshade, Patent No. 725069

Body-attachable Sunshade, Patent No. 725069

15 Responses

  1. Inventions have been on my mind this week – since seeing:
    http://kalman.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/07/30/can-do/

    When I was a child, I had a Heath Robinson poster on my wall ( a British illustrator) and his Rube Goldberg like devices were fascinating.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W._Heath_Robinson

  2. Please enter me!
    My favorite invention story is of Thomas Edison and the lightbulb.

  3. One of my favorite inventions is Velcro™. When we were preparing our twins for kindergarten, we were told they had to be able to tie their own shoes. One of our boys is left-handed and his right-handed mother couldn’t translate instructions, no matter how hard I tried. Then we discovered shoes with Velcro™ closures that made it easy for a 5 year-old left-hander to fasten his own shoes. As a teacher of little ones, I appreciate this invention VERY much!

  4. One of my favorite inventors was SnowFlake ( Wilson)Bentley. I have always been facinated by snowflakes and when I read how he was a self educated farmer who was a pioneer in adapting a microscope to a bellows camera and became the first person to photograph a single snow crystal in 1885, I was really hooked. He was the first person to find that no two are alike and photographed more than 5000 snowflakes in his lifetime. If he had only had the technology we have today, think of what he could have done. All he had was a camera-microscope that he had invented and he had to be outside in the snow to take the pictures!! Talk about dedication. Inventors deserve all our respect because we would still be rubbing two sticks together if it had not been for people who had the curiosity to ask “is there a better way”. Use your brain and invent something to make everyones life better.

  5. I do not have a favorite inventor. This past year I taught my 5th graders about the industrial revolution. My students really enjoyed learning about the many inventors during that time period. We take so much for granted and didn’t realize so many people had an inpact on what we have today.

  6. I loved the Kurt Vanugut short story : Thomas Edisons Shaggy Dog!

  7. I remember as a child of five or six in March trying to invent “green” things to eat. My brother and I kept trying to get my mom to make green food. I got ahold of the green food coloring and added it to my milk and mashed potatoes on St. Patrick’s Day. My mom and Dad tried to hide their laughter and be angry, but it became a great family story!

  8. As a youngster, I spent one summer reading nearly everything in the Biography section in the Children’s Room at the local public library. When I got to the “E’s” I was fascinated by Thomas A. Edison. I was bitten by the inventing bug. Decades later, I have a son who is a tinkerer. He and Edison have the same birthday.

  9. Our 6th grade students research inventions every year and I learn so many interesting things when they come to our library for resources. Brainstorms is one of the books we use. Some of my favorite inventions include liquid paper, post it notes and potato chips!

  10. There is a learning expedition that we do around engineering and this title, which we have in print would be a great addition to our collection. Thanks for doing engaging nonfiction audiobooks!

  11. My favorite invention story is about Velcro. George DeMestral was walking through the woods, and got Cockleburs stuck to his clothing. He looked at the cockleburs under a microscope to find that they were covered with tiny hooks. They stuck so well to clothing and fur, etc., that he figured out that they would make a great adhering tool.

  12. Another great invention story is about Art Fry, a 3M employee, who hated how bookmarks and strips of paper to mark places in text would fall out of the place. He remembered a type of non-permanent glue that had been invented several years before this time (1974) that the company had put aside. He decided to try putting it on notepads and labels to make “post-it” self-sticking notes, an instant success!

  13. […] don’t forget about our August Audiobook Giveaway! Contest ends this Friday, August 14, […]

  14. I am going to homeschool my two children this year and I thought about incorporating books on tape. My son is dyslexic and it would help him greatly.

    Thanks to all authors that include this option.

  15. […] Popular Posts August Giveaway – National Inventors MonthFree audio and lesson plan for Bridge to TerabithiaFREE Strider Lesson Plans from RB!Another free […]

Leave a Reply

