What made you try audiobooks?

Mrs. Cord name apple In Part Two of our continuing series with White Marsh teachers Jennifer Cord and Laurie McGrath, Jennifer shares how she was first inspired to try audiobooks, and how she immediately got a positive reaction from students and parents…

Jennifer says …“For me, using audio books came as such an easy thing. It’s something I really enjoy and something I will continue to use for a long while. I guess I got the idea to use them in the summer. I loved reading but I was often driving around a lot or going on trips. I decided to start using audiobooks in the car. It seemed like a novel idea, and it worked. Then later, I was in the library and saw the many children’s/young adult books were on audio tapes/cds, and realized that my children probably didn’t even know that theses existed for the newer releases that they were choosing to read.

So when school started that fall, I got my hands on a class set of print books and purchased the audiobook to go with them. What a new and exciting thing! Parents were calling and saying how great it was that their child was INTERESTED in a book. They couldn’t stop talking about the book at home, and were trying to get hold of other books that the author had written, just because they were so hooked on this way of reading a book!”

What made you start using audiobooks in your classroom, and how did students and parents react?

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

4 Responses

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt“For me, using audio books came as such an easy thing. It’s something I really enjoy and something I will continue to use for a long while. I guess I got the idea to use them in the summer. I loved reading but I was often driving around … […]

  2. WOW! Nice idea. Its really amazing. Well i too implement this audio books idea in my school.

  3. i’ve been a fan of listening centers for a while. i’m in the process of writing a grant to intergrate some of the science and social studies objectives into my literacy block with recorded books. the cost of such an endeavor is enormous so i’ll have to go the way of a grant.

  4. Ramona, we’re so glad you are thinking about integrating Recorded Books into your cross-curricular activities! We offer lots of contests where you can win audiobooks. Two of our contests are still open until June 30. Try sending us your lesson ideas and you could win some free Recorded Books. See this post: http://tinyurl.com/67mbmx .

    Also keep in mind that while audiobooks may seem pricey, they really are affordable when you think about their versatility, usefulnes, and quality. Playaways, especially are a great deal. One Playaway can reach and teach hundreds of students—with no equipment or other expensive considerations to worry about!

Leave a Reply

